Stories Matter...

Book cover for a new favourite Australian author Robert Barclay new novel

Read an excerpt

“… an immersive and gripping piece that resonates deeply with the reader.” Rebecca Black, A.M.

"...a worthy contender for the Miles Franklin Literary Award indeed." Gillian Wells, Author of Alone and Consequences.

"...I think you have written some of the most beautiful sentences I have ever read. I know it’s a good book because every time I pick it up, I am transported to not just a different place or time, but a different life." Danielle Sanelli

The Diary of Katy Yehonala

Nominated for the 2022 Miles Franklin Award - A sweeping saga of three generations of extraordinary women whose lives were forged in the bloodiest era of China's history. Three women who lifted their gaze beyond their turbulent past, each to fulfil unique destinies.

The first is a proud matriarch who believes honouring family is worth any sacrifice.

The second senses destiny’s hand tugging her sleeve in a love story for all time.

The third soars to breathtaking heights on the world stage, a mother’s selfless love beneath her wings.

***NOW AVAILABLE*** from Shawline Publishing New Releases

Cover of Robert Barclay AUthor new book Girl in the orphanage

The Girl in the Orphanage

The news shatters Katy Yehonala’s world. Her husband, Simon, has been murdered in a remote Cambodian border township. What was he doing there?

She discovers an unfinished manuscript called Chavy’s Story hinting at Simon’s secretive work and tells the harrowing story of a young village girl trafficked for sex. Katy and Clara travel to Cambodia in search of answers.

The riddles buried in the pages of Chavy’s Story unmask a forgotten horror from Katy’s childhood, and for Clara, a beautiful Italian charity worker threatens to upset a lifetime of modesty. Chavy's Story will change Katy and Clara’s lives forever


The Body Shop

From the bucolic Hampshire villages of Jane Austen to the steamy rainforests of Borneo, Katy and Clara Yehonala and a new heroine confront the devastating price the world pays for beauty.

The Body Shop dances across the glamorous fashion capitals of the world and treads the horrific, secret world of corporations in the prehistoric rainforests of Kalimantan revealing the grim world of human rights abuses and rainforest bastardry.

The climax will leave two mothers uplifted by their magnificent daughters and facing loss which must be endured like the rivers tell time, not the clocks.

Release date, March 2023. Excerpt available soon.

Clara Yehonala plays Chopin

Enjoy the beautiful Chopin Nocturne Opus 9, Number 2 as our gift to you.

Make sure you read the previews of Robert's novels and leave your email below to have the opportunity to read pre-publication drafts and have your ideas included in these wonderful stories.

Register your email at the link below to participate in Katy and Clara's stories. You may see your ideas in the next novel.


A proportion of every book sale provides funds to rescue, rehabilitate and educate victims of child sex trafficking gangs in Asia. Great reading and a great cause to support.